Sign up to our Editors Choice newsletter now! Click here

Finalists of Progress Community Stars awards announced

Accessibility Menu

Menu Search

24dash - The UK's most up-to-date social housing and public sector news website

Finalists of Progress Community Stars awards announced


Published by lpriest for Progress Housing Group in Housing and also in Communities

Progress Housing Group's 2013 Community Stars winners Progress Housing Group's 2013 Community Stars winners

The finalists for this year’s prestigious Progress Housing Group Community Stars Awards have been announced.

Progress Housing Group staff have been inundated with nominations for its resident community stars awards, which recognise the unsung champions living in its communities across the UK.                             

The judges, made up of staff from across the housing group, spent hours deliberating the finalists for each of the four categories which include Good Neighbour, Young Community Champion, Community Investment Fund Project of the Year, and Resident Involvement Champion.

The Progress Housing Group Community Stars Awards are in their second year and recognise individuals and groups who are making a real difference to the area where they live.

Jacqui De-Rose, Group Chief Executive for Progress Housing Group, said: "The Community Stars Awards are our way of recognising residents who go that extra mile, and thanking those people who work so hard to improve our communities.

"We have been blown away by the number of nominations this year. It is clear from the nominations that there is a great community spirit across our neighbourhoods. The judges really had their job cut out try to pick the finalists.

The winners will be announced Progress Housing Group’s tenant conference at the Blackpool Hilton Hotel, on Sunday 9 March.


The finalists are

Resident Involvement

Ann James

Claire Cowell

Doreen Stimpson

Elizabeth McClennan

Jamie Hatch

Jan Whitfield

Jeremy Vick

John Taylor

Karen Beech

Margaret Neal

Philip Owen

Rebecca Gammon

Sheila Carter

Susan Bryce

Tony Cookson

Viv Willder 



Good Neighbour

Ann James

Bradley Wilson

Dobbie Shepherd

Elizabeth McClennan

Elizabeth Papadopoullos

Emily Voutt

Glen Banks

Jeremy Vick

Joan Bell

John Palmer

Marie Palmer

Mark Chaplin

Mary Blumson

Pearl Livesey

Rebecca Gammon

Rosalie Brain

Roy Hargreaves

Sandra Pounder

Tony Cookson 

Young Community Champion

Anthony Irvine

Jeremy Vick

Jessica Jones

Jordan Jones

Josh Evenson

Lara Norbury

Lauren Buchanan

Michael Turner  

Community Investment Fund Project of the Year

Beth Blenkinship as Community Development Worker at The Base in Leyland

The Place community centre in Leyland for its community Marketplace and redecoration

New Fylde Futures – with Blackpool Football Club Community Trust

Louise Wright as Penwortham Young People’s Provision Co-ordinator


Login and comment using one of your accounts...